Vacation Reading

My vacation alarm has been ringing off the hook for quite some time now. To be specific, it has been on snooze for the past eight months as my trip to Brazil was cancelled due to the Zika scare. Living in a crowded city in India with an abundance of vehicle, traffic and people I did not want my vacation to be filled with people and buildings too. So, this time we decided to go to some place where animals outnumber people, Serengeti in Tanzania.

The major attraction in Tanzania is the wildlife safari through the northern circuit covering Lake Manyara, Tarangire, Ngorongoro crater and Serengeti. As our safari consists of seven days of travel with ample time at my hands between wildlife sightings, I was excited to pack a lot of books. I am sure that no book nerd can travel without packing a few books in their luggage. The same amount of attention that goes into trip planning goes into the book selection process.

I went through a period of indecision about what books and format to pick. An intense lover of paperback, I have always taken paperbacks for my trip and shunned e-readers completely. Taking only paperback is difficult as there is a trade off between quality reading experience and excessive luggage to carry. I generally go with two medium sized read or a combo of a large book and a smaller one. When I decided to read Lolita on a trip, I paired it with Snow. But when reading The Idiot, I did not take any other book with me.

For this vacation, I had already decided on Eileen and The Vegetarian. But seeing the size of Vegetarian, I decided to replace it with Prodigal Summer. This book has been in my TBR list for a long time now but has never really excited me enough to just go ahead and read it. So, at the last moment, I decided to take No Country for Old Men instead of Prodigal Summer. As the safari provides ample time to read I decided to take a third book. But seeing the displeasure of my husband in lugging around the books while trekking, I dropped that idea. But luckily for me, NetGalley provided me with a free copy of Swimming Lessons for review. So, for the first time, I am travelling with an ereader on a trip. Hoping to enjoy the books and the trip to the fullest.

Adding few pictures I took from flight.

Cheers,

BookEscapade

Leave a Reply

